Audacious Albert's Blog

2008 Portland Marathon Reflection

Posted by audaciousalbert on October 20, 2008

The Portland Marathon was amazing! It was my very first marathon and I hope to be able to run it again(and faster) in following years. Even though it rained on us, I thought the crowd support was good, especially at the start, in the neighborhoods after crossing the St. John’s Bridge, and in the final miles. I am proud(and a little shocked) that I was able to continuously run the whole time. My previous longest run to date was about 18 miles. My final time ended up being 3:34:01 which equates to around 8:10 miles. I started out in the 3:45 pace group; Tanja who was the Red Lizard pace leader was very nice. I past that pace group early on in the race and wasn’t able to catch up to any of the other pace groups. Although I don’t think I slowed down too much in the last few miles, the last mile in particular felt like the longest mile I have ever ran in my life. Perhaps a Boston qualifier marathon time (< 3:11) is in my future; it’s a stretch, maybe not for another few years.

2008 Portland Marathon results are posted here:

https://www.runraceresults.com/secure/raceresults.cfm?id=rcag2008

The course was good and well laid out. Because of the rain, some of the views from the St. John’s Bridge, and around the University of Portland were slightly obstructed.

During the race, I consumed Ultima(a replenishing energy drink), water, and 4 packets of Gu(energy gel). I took a bit of a risk by taking Gu for the first time the day before the race just to see if it would upset my stomach. It didn’t, and worked well during the race.

My sister ran the 5 miler event, and my mom was a volunteer. There was a plethora of food and drinks available at the finish line and I also got a snazzy metal, foil blanket, rose, tree seedling, and a pretty awesome finisher’s shirt.

After the race, I felt super sore for the next 3 or so days. I have a new appreciation for banisters when going up and down stairs(especially down).

I love this video! It reminds me of how I felt the day after the marathon:

I am now fully recovered and ready to start training for my next race! :)

warmed up and ready to go!

warmed up and ready to go!

My mom and I before the race

My mom and I before the race

Cathi and Dat, morning of the race

Cathi and Dat, morning of the race

26.2 miles later...

26.2 miles later...

After the race showing off my shiny new medal!

After the race showing off my shiny new medal!

2 Responses to “2008 Portland Marathon Reflection”

  1. Monica said

    you’re my hero!

  2. Athena said

    Ahh Hey!! I didn’t know you started a blog, Awesome!! WordPress rocks! =)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

